…commissions Secretariat and appoints new National Executives

The St. Andrew’s College, Oyo has held its’ 31st Founders Day and Reunion programme. The event which took place at the St. Andrew’s Campus of the Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo recently. During the event, a new Secretariat was commissioned and the election of new Executives of the association.

The event brought together St. Andrew’s Old Boys’ Association from all the institutions that the school had been metamorphosed from namely- St. Andrew’s College to St. Andrew’s College of Education. SACOBA members now comprise those who attended the original College when it was a male College and those who subsequently attended the College of Education, which included male and female students

The College was established on March 18, 1896. Since that date, it has been the practice of the College and its alumni to observe March 18 as Founders’ Day and to hold a Reunion every four years when St. Andrew’s Old Boys’ Association (SACOBA) members return to the College for remembrance activities.

The 2020 SACOBA Reunion brought together about 120 members, the oldest of whom studied in the College in 1946 – 1949 and is now a retired surgeon and other members from all walks of life. Other activities at the reunion included a Reunion Service where Rt. Rev. Ezekiel Bolarinde Dahunsi, (St. Andrew’s College, 1971-1973 and currently the only SACOBA Bishop in the Church of Nigeria (Anglican Communion) preached. The commissioning of the National Secretariat of SACOBA on the St, Andrew’s Campus of Ajayi Crowther University by the National President, Professor Emeritus Ayo Bamgbose

Also, there was also the Conferment of Honorary Andrian on Rt. Rev. Prof. Dapo Asaju, Vice-Chancellor of Ajayi Crowther University, Oyo and the Chief Host at the Reunion. Other eminent Andrians who got awards include: Venerable Gabriel Oladele Adesina 1946-1949, Professor Emeritus Ayo Bamgbose 1948-1951 and Chief Timothy Ajayi Fasoranti 1954-1955. There were posthumous awards for Dr. Ebenezer Oluwole Olukoju 1954-1957 and Dr. Solomon Olubanjo Oladiti 1969-1971.

The event was graced by three pioneer principal officers of Ajayi Crowther University; these are Professor Emeritus Ayo Banjo, Pioneer Chairman of Council, current Chairman Board of Trustees, and Honorary Andrian, Professor Jire Olaniran, Pioneer Vice-Chancellor and Honorary Andrian and Dr. (Mrs). Josephine Oyebanji, Pioneer Registrar.

Equally, the newly elected national officers of the association include Rev. Prof. William Akerele, elected as the National President; Bashorun A. O. Oguntomole elected as 1st Vice-President while Dr. Gabriel Aremu was elected as the 2nd Vice-President respectively and Rev. Dr Abraham Olusola-Niyi Fnipr was elected as the National Secretary.

Other Executive members include Comrade Kola Tanimowo; Chief John Onaolapo Ajibola; Mrs. Modupeola Adio; Chief Babatunde Omikunle; Remi Fasoyin amongst others.






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *