Today, the world’s leading streaming entertainment service, Netflix announced 52  beneficiaries of its Creative Equity Scholarship Fund (CESF), for the West and Central African region. The announcement occurred at a stakeholder event, hosted by the National Film and Video Censor Board (NFVCB).

The 2-day event which took place at the Marriott Hotel, Ikeja in Lagos engaged policy, regulators and partners on important discussions including; Nigerian storytelling as soft power and hard currency;  inclusion of women in the creative economy; the need for strengthening Nigeria’s creative pipeline, and Nollywood’s contribution to global perception.

Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund (CESF) will provide financial support to its beneficiaries including access to quality tertiary education in film and TV-focused disciplines. The scholarship fund for Sub-Saharan students is part of Netflix’s global Creative Equity Fund launched in 2021 which is a dedicated effort to help build new opportunities for underrepresented communities within entertainment. Through the fund, Netflix supports external organisations committed to creating equitable opportunities in the TV and film industries, as well as bespoke Netflix programs that help us to identify, train and provide job placement for up-and-coming talent globally.

The Netflix Creative Equity Scholarship Fund celebrated the inaugural cohort of 52 beneficiaries from four East African countries (Benin Republic, Gabon, Ghana and Nigeria.

Meet the 52 Beneficiaries:

3 beneficiaries from PAN-Atlantic University (Nigeria),

Alex Eyengho, Donatus Ekwuazi and Nicole Emechebe.

24 beneficiaries from National film institute Jos (Nigeria)

Nanmet Dakup, Grace Lasisi, Nkemakonam Onejeme, Timchang Miri, George-isaac Dadzie, Joseph Ogbe, Anothony Nnaji, Aduragbemi Ogundiran, Oluyomi Taiwo, Evelyn Inyang, Emeka Ikpechukwu, Collins Okorocha, McRoberts Metseyinor, Fatgan Agati, Aisa Zerubabel, Blessing Izang, Stephen Okoh, Nifuk Mafuyai, Lois Bewarang, Samson Alaba, Ezichi Okeke, Rukayat  Zubair, Mary Orjiakor and Divine-gift Ibewuike.

8 beneficiaries-National Film and Television Institute (Ghana)

Samuel Laryea, Seth Aydin, Linda Amemordzi, Gilbert Carrey, Kakra Opare-Asiedu, Lydia Flika, Payin Opare-Asiedu, Magdaline Masopeh.

15 beneficiaries from Institut Supérieur des Métiers de l’Audiovisuel (ISMA) (Benin)

Sekinatou Bio, Belvina Djossou, Kate Djiwan, Mirabellel Tossa, Melvina Afanou

Lazarine Damando,  Imelda Batamoussi, Zigan Jean-Pierre Medegoun, Elfrid Benon, Franck Anikakpo, Irésan Bassaley, Milka Degan, Chrétia Vodounon, Nouriyath  Moussibayi and Claudia -Manuela Tanoh.

2 beneficiaries – Institut Philippe Maury de l’Audiovisuel et du Cinéma (IPMAC) du groupe EM-Gabon Université (EMGU)

Thephor Koumou-Mba and Adriana Ndemby.

All the beneficiaries are eligible to receive a  full scholarship which includes – tuition, accommodation, living stipend and education supplies.

The program is currently being administered by dalberg in partnership with the five institutions of higher learning in the region that  will support the formal qualification and training of aspiring creatives from the region.

Published on Brandfit.




Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *